Shut Up About Daylight Saving Time, It’s Actually Great

From Popular Mechanics:

Besides making the world seem like a darker place, one effect of this event is a huge proliferation of articles proclaiming that DST is a garbage idea that needs to end. What these articles tend to ignore is that DST is a bizarre idea in the best way possible.

I know there are a lot of detractors, and the ‘Spring Forward’ shift really hurts, but there is a lot of benefits to Daylight Saving Time.

In reality, DST is an eight-month experiment designed to make life, well, more pleasurable for humans. The basic idea: In the Western world, we typically spend more awake time in the evenings than in the mornings. We also enjoy many benefits from being awake in the sunshine.

My biggest problem is the temporary disruption to my routine and the accompanied exhaustion I get for a few days while I adjust.  The extra sunlight is worth it though.

About jlgull

I'm a civil engineer working in the transportation industry. Basically, I manage the design, construction, and operation of highways and bridges. As an engineer and scientist I'm very analytical and this is reflected in my approach to fitness and racing.
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

